play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of The Car Lot.

At The Car Lot. we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car or van can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

The Car Lot.

The Car Lot.
5
5.0

All 112 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Great service

    By Chris K on 08 January 2024 | Purchase not verified

    Purchased a Toyota IQ back at the end of November and everyone could not have been more helpful - they even picked me up at the train station. The car was spotlessly clean when I picked it up and has been running perfectly

    Reply from The Car Lot. on 15/01/24

    Morning Chris Thanks for your business good to know your enjoying the car John


  • 5

    Mess about

    By Anonymous on 09 April 2023 | Purchase not verified

    Called on Friday to view a car on Saturday, then they called back and cancelled. Called Monday morning before we set off from Doncaster, they said they would have the car out and ready for when we arrived. When we turned up, nothing was said until I was walked to the car and then to be told ' the car won't recognise the keys, it was too late to call you' even if we got a call 20 mins before, it would have saved us 40 minutes each way plus the fuel. They are clearly disorganised and inconsiderate. Not even an apology. Would not reccomend.i look forward to their response.

    Reply from The Car Lot. on 11/04/23

    * Hi James When you initially called us I called you back on the Friday to inform you that due to a family matter we were unable to show you around the vehicle , I did apologise and you were fine at this point and we agreed to another appointment. Prior to your appointment we went to get the car off the sales pitch to find the battery needed replacing we ordered a new battery then once fitted the vehicle did not recognise the key hence we could not move the vehicle we didn't have 2 minutes never mind 20 minutes to call you to inform you that the car was immobilised . Again I did apologise at this point as I felt for you when you told me that you had a baby and another child of 18 months so you had your hands full then you said your partner and yourself couldn't agree on the same vehicle . James I hope you can agree vehicles are mechanical devices and sometimes things don't always go according to plan we did agree to contact you when the mechanical fault was rectified I guess this is no longer the case. I wish you well with your next vehicle purchase again I apologise for any inconvenience caused .


  • 5

    Go elsewhere unless you live locally.

    By Anonymous on 09 April 2023 | Purchase not verified

    I really wanted to buy a Toyota Aygo from them. It would have been a distance sales but according to Autotrader that would not be a problem as home delivery was available. I telephone them and spoke to Christiaan. We discussed finance and delivery and he even agreed free delivery which was great. He sent me the finance quote. I then messaged and asked if he could send me a video of the car and confirm if there were any marks or stone chips etc (Fair enough if you can’t get to see the vehicle before buying it !!) To this I got a reply saying that his salesman John had just taken a deposit on it. This was on 30/3/23 and to date (11 days later)car is still for sale . Now perhaps the sale fell through, but even if this was the case it would have been nice if they’d got back to me. I still have the messages saved on my phone. Seems to me like they didn’t want my business even though car has been for sale at least 44 days and price decreased in that time . My advice. Go elsewhere for online sales as the Car Lot aren’t interested .

    Reply from The Car Lot. on 11/04/23

    karen .... i am left gobsmacked and speechless after reading this review !! the fact that you can leave a one star review on my business because you have missed out on a car is unbelievable !!! after our initial conversation somebody else beat you to the car and left a deposit .... we had no deposit from yourself and had not entered into any sort of contract of sale , you had quite simply rung up and made an enquiry about one our vehicles ... i messaged you straight away to inform you that we had sold the vehicle so i couldnt do anymore in terms of keeping you informed .... i can maybe understand your frustration that you have missed out on a fantastic car but everything is for sale on a first come first served basis and when a DEPOSIT is received its sold ... simple as that !!!! i am pretty sure anybody reading your 1 star review will agree that you are quite simply bitter because you missed out on a car !!!! i am completely lost for words .....


  • 5

    Misleading advertising!

    By Matt B on 09 May 2022 | Purchase not verified

    I would not purchase from The Car Lot again after advertising and selling me an Audi A3 with full dealership service history. What I've established is the vehicle has partial dealership service history, however the last service was carried out some backstreet garage! This is not what I was told when I purchased the vehicle and was assured by Christiann that the vehicle had FDSH. Not happy as this will affect the resale value of the car.


  • 5

    I have never experienced such awful behaviour.

    By Anonymous on 20 March 2022 | Purchase not verified

    An horrendous experience. Do not touch this company with a bargepole.


  • 5

    Excellent service highly recommend as a trader

    By Alex A on 07 February 2022 | Purchase not verified

    Excellent service I travelled from the midlands headed back within hours with new van Thankyou again


  • 5

    By Anonymous on 05 November 2021 | Purchase not verified

    We bought a cheap run around for hubby to use for work. Within 2 days it needed a new exhaust now there's something wrong with the alternator. Whether I am buying a car gor £1000 or £10,000 I expect the same customer service. Very disappointed


  • 5

    Conman fake logbook

    By Anonymous on 07 June 2021 | Purchase not verified

    Purchased a tourneo custom from christian and all the paperwork and logbook are false. He also stated he would provide 12 months m.o.t and he didnt i had to take it to a garage my self. Im now left with a very expensive ornament on my driveway as i cant even tax the vehicle as the numbers on the logbook dont exist. I spoke to john on the phone who stated if you provide your card details i will fix the issue for you which i refused to do since then all calls and messages have been ignored.. avoid this seller at all costs..


  • 5

    Audi A4 Avant, missing parts, bad service.

    By Tamer A on 23 January 2021 | Purchase not verified

    I have bought an Audi Avant from this seller. Lots of issues. They did not bring the necessary papers to tax the car. No Logbook, though they said they will send. The car was very dirty, The rear window washes is not working, The tyres are not as described, and The Luggage cover is missing. I have sent them 3 emails but they still dont answer about the missing parts.


  • 5

    Excellent service.

    By Deborah C on 27 August 2020 | Purchase not verified

    All staff helpful and friendly not pushy .Excellent service